Introduction and Questions: Improving aBook for VDKC's Choir Library Project

Started by _vdkc_, 08 July 2024, 13:38:25

Previous topic - Next topic
A financial contribution is greatly appreciated as a support, to help us to keep live the project.
If you like this project you can donate some piece of BitCoin to this address: bc1qy5tgq6tvrckac2a57unxvqcnxamrvhduve9sj9

_vdkc_

Hello everyone,

My name is Sebastian, and I am a project manager for VDKC, an association in Germany representing the interests of over 500 concert choirs. We are currently working on modernizing our library, which contains over 1,000 music scores, and cataloging it with suitable software. Our project aims to enable VDKC to record the media of its central library, while also allowing the music librarians of member choirs to independently catalog and present their own collections.

After researching suitable software that is easy for laypeople to use, we discovered aBook and immediately fell in love with it. Our website is already based on Joomla, so transitioning to aBook was a natural step. We are deeply grateful for the dedicated and voluntary work that has gone into making this refined service available to the public.

We have already revised and normalized our simple inventory list to import entries of authors, publishers, and media into aBook via SQL and CSV import—a substantial task, but the results have been worth the effort.

During our work with aBook and our UX testing, several questions and requests have arisen. I would like to present some of them here and inquire about possible improvements before our next rollout step in September: